Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Nathan Ballentine Gary E. Clary Kirkman Finlay III Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Walton J. McLeod Joshua Putnam Samuel Rivers Jr. Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

William K. (Bill) Bowers Raye Felder Phyllis J. Henderson Mia S. McLeod Ralph W. Norman Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211

Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

June 2, 2015

Secretary of Transportation Janet P. Oakley South Carolina Department of Transportation Post Office Box 191 Columbia, South Carolina 29201 - 3959

Dear Secretary Oakley:

On behalf of the entire Economic Development, Transportation, Natural Resources and Regulatory Subcommittee, I would like to thank your staff for sharing their time and knowledge with this subcommittee during our recent meeting.

During the June 2, 2015, meeting, your team offered to provide the following additional information:

- Definition of the term "maintenance" and examples of what type of work fall into the two categories of maintenance discussed by Christy Hall during the meeting and any other categories of maintenance;
- Chart that explains which pieces of the pie charts in the SCDOT 2015/16 Budget Submittal relate to Maintenance work; Operational and Capacity Improvement Projects, etc.;
- Breakdown of each bond including outstanding debt, interest rate, maturity date, etc.;
- Breakdown of payroll including a listing of each SCDOT employee, the employee's annual salary, and the total annual cost of that employee to the agency; and
- The following for each CTC: current governance structure and expenditures for the last five years.

We appreciate your team following up on these issues and providing the information.

Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Nathan Ballentine Gary E. Clary Kirkman Finlay III Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Walton J. McLeod Joshua Putnam Samuel Rivers Jr. Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

William K. (Bill) Bowers Raye Felder Phyllis J. Henderson Mia S. McLeod Ralph W. Norman Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr, Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Thank you and your staff for your continued cooperation during the legislative oversight process.

Sincerely,

Signature Redacted

Phyllis L. Henderson Subcommittee Chair

cc: The Honorable Wm. Weston J. Newton

The Honorable Ralph W. Norman The Honorable Robert L. Ridgeway III The Honorable Samuel Rivers Jr.